Security Breach

The security of our personal information is in by no means as “secure” as companies claim them to be. The retrieval of your personal information can be accessed at any time. On November 30, 2013 Target had a security breach. 40 million credit card numbers and 70 million phone numbers, addresses and other pieces of personal information were leaked out of their mainframe. (Riley, 2014) The public should have the right to be notified by an organization if there has been a breach in their digital security. Knowing so could prevent consumers to purchase from a company that will also prevent in the access of their personal information.

 

As a consumer I do believe we should have the right to know if our information has been accessed. If not, it can result in loss of identity or loss of money. My mother was a victim of the security breach from Target. My mother was charged for two purchases that she did not make. If the company had notified people about this problem than there would have been a lot less victims, which would of, resulted in a lot less lawsuits conducted upon them.

 

Online shopping is one of the greatest inventions known to man. I could go grocery shopping, Christmas shopping or even buy appliances and have it all shipped to my house just by sitting on my couch in my pajamas. I know it is a risk that my information may be stolen every time I make an online transaction, but as long as I keep an eye on my bank statements to follow my transactions than everything should be alright. If I notice a transaction that I did not make than I would contact the bank and report the problem. To change my mind my information would have to be stolen a numerous amount of times. Otherwise, I will still continue to shop online as I please. (Security, 2013)

 

Security Breach Examples and Practices to Avoid Them. (2013, April 1). Security Breach Examples and Practices to Avoid Them. Retrieved , from http://its.ucsc.edu/security/breaches.html

 

Riley, M., Elgin, B., Lawrence, D., & Matlack, C. (2014, March 13). Missed Alarms and 40 Million Stolen Credit Card Numbers: How Target Blew It. Bloomberg Business Week. Retrieved , from http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2014-03-13/target-missed-alarms-in-epic-hack-of-credit-card-data

Standard

Leave a Reply

